Apgar Award for Innovation in Teaching Honors 'Environmental Justice' Teaching Team

Maron Greenleaf and Sarah Kelly were recognized for their 'Environmental Justice' course.

Assistant Professor of Anthropology Maron Greenleaf and research associate in anthropology Sarah Kelly, a postdoctoral researcher affiliated with the Arthur L. Irving Institute for Energy and Society, were awarded the 2022 Apgar Award for Innovation in Teaching by the Dartmouth Center for the Advancement of Learning.

The Apgar Award recognizes innovative teaching initiatives that cross traditional academic boundaries. The award focuses on team-taught, interdisciplinary courses, particularly those offered by faculty at an early stage of their careers in the arts and humanities.

"Environmental Justice" draws on methodologies from anthropology, sociolegal studies, and human geography to explore how environmental harms are experienced across different communities. The course explores the concept of environmental justice as it has developed through social movements in the United States and elsewhere to examine how inequality and inequity manifest themselves environmentally.

Course learning objectives include:

  • Learn the history of environmental injustice and the struggle against it in different parts of the world and over time;
  • Understand how and why 'the environment' is a space where inequality occurs and justice is struggled for;
  • Think critically about mainstream environmentalism and environmental policy in the United States and elsewhere;
  • Read and write ethnographic and other qualitative scholarship; and
  • Build critical reading, writing, participation, and independent research skills.

Greenleaf and Kelly's "Environmental Justice" course was also the recipient of a Design Course Development Grant in 2022. 

The Apgar Award at Dartmouth is the latest in the Awards for Excellence program that was begun by Sandy and Anne Apgar in 1982 and is presented annually at 15 leading educational and cultural institutions and professional organizations. The endowment for this prize provides a modest cash prize to each of the faculty teaching the course selected for the award.