Mary Flanagan Honored by Educational Video Game Organization

The professor, game designer, and artist is a member of the first class of 30 fellows.

Professor Mary Flanagan has been named one of 30 inaugural fellows of the Higher Education Video Game Alliance.

The HEVGA fellows program recognizes senior scholars in the games field who have made significant contributions in design, theory, or research. They are elected by their peers for their work in games-based research and design in higher education.

“Being elected a HEVGA Fellow for outstanding contributions in game creation and research is an exciting honor,” says Flanagan. “I’m thrilled to be in this inaugural cohort of international scholars who study the cultural, educational, scientific, and economic importance of games. This group has built a new field of work, a new discipline.”

Flanagan, the Sherman Fairchild Distinguished Professor in Digital Humanities and a professor of film and media studies, is a leading innovator, artist, educator, and designer whose works include everything from game-inspired art to commercial games that shift people’s thinking about bias and stereotypes.

She established the internationally recognized Tiltfactor Laboratory, a leading research and design studio, before joining the Dartmouth faculty in 2008. The laboratory, now located in the Black Family Visual Arts Center at Dartmouth, creates games and studies how these games affect users’ knowledge, attitudes, and behavior.

Flanagan has been an American Council of Learned Societies fellow, a Brown Foundation Fellow, and a MacDowell Colony Fellow. She recently served as a J. Paul Getty Museum Scholar and was the first visiting scholar at the museum to study games. Her digitally driven artworks and installations have been shown internationally at venues such as the Whitney Museum of American Art and the Guggenheim, both in New York, and the Beall Center for Art and Technology at the University of California at Irvine.

Flanagan served on the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy Academic Consortium on Games for Impact in 2012. In 2015, she received the HEVGA award for advancing theory and research in the field of game studies, and in 2016 she was awarded an honorary doctorate in design from Illinois Institute of Technology. Also in 2016, she received the Vanguard award from Games for Change, an organization that facilitates the creation and distribution of social impact games.